Laurel-Awards-logoThe Laurel Awards annually recognizes the achievements of non profit groups in Edmonton and area including Drayton Valley. Each year starting in February until the end of May, we invite applications from non profit groups for these awards. A selection committee then evaluates the programs and projects on the basis of their successful innovation and creativity, regardless of size and overall budget and select the winners. This year we celebrate the Laurel Awards at a luncheon on September 12, 2018 at The Chateau Lacombe. Five awards will be presented at this year’s luncheon supported with $11,500 in cash prizes. 

Entry Requirements

Applications must be submitted by the non profit organization responsible for the program or project by May 31, 2018 at 11:00 pm MST. The program or project must have been completed by a non profit society, a registered charity or through an appropriate government program. Non profit organizations may submit as many of their programs or projects as meet the Laurel Awards criteria. Winning programs or projects from previous years will not be considered.


The program or project must:

  • Further the recognized mission of the organization;
  • Have met predetermined goals and objectives;
  • Demonstrate innovation through the creative utilization of resources (e.g. volunteers, partnerships, sponsorships, etc.);
  • Exhibit original thought in the creation or implementation of the project; and
  • Have taken place within Edmonton and area including Drayton Valley.


About the Laurel Awards

To celebrate 100 years of continuous legal practice, Duncan Craig LLP developed the Laurel Awards in 1994. The laurel wreath has been a symbol of high honour for more than two thousand years. The history of the laurel is traced back to the early Greeks and Romans, who bestowed wreaths upon community leaders, scholars and athletes who had excelled in their endeavours. In keeping with this tradition Duncan Craig LLP established the Laurel Awards to honour organizations that further their objectives through exceptional creativity and innovation. Gold, Silver and Bronze awards are presented each year with honouriums of $5,000, $3,000 and $2,000 respectively.

See more about the Laurel Awards & download the 2018 Application Form and the How To Guide at:

For more information, contact:

Deb Kondysar
Community Relations